I am glad I am not in politics. What a painful debate that was (to watch) last night on ABC between Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama – and it had nothing to do with the candidates. I sat nervously in my chair for an hour before I was mercifully relieved by my wife, who wanted to watch American Idol at 9pm. The questions from the start put the candidates back on their heels and made them defensive, then it was over. I’m no expert, but where was the debate part of the debate? It was a trial (and that’s being nice). I read this morning, that the candidates were eventually given the opportunity to discuss their platforms and answer real questions in the last thirty minutes, but what a sham. I’ve witnessed better (and livelier) debates between Browns and Steelers fans.

The moderators were awful! George “Step-all-over-you” Stephanopoulos and Charles Gibson were just downright child-like in their duties as moderators with argumentative and tabloid-like comments and questions. George even interrupted the candidates’ answers like a two year-old repeating the word “but”, when you are trying to explain to her the reason why she must take a nap.

The candidates are not at fault at all – the questions were so asinine that no matter the answer, the candidate was not going to look stellar. I also doubt that anything was cleared up for folks who are on the fence or whether anyone’s mind was changed to vote for one or the other. Like, Tom Rooney, he asked why Clinton lied about the  “Bosnia sniper comments”, then proceeded to tell the viewers that Hillary Clinton lost had already lost his vote. What purpose then did the question serve? It was entrapment, was there possibly any answer that Clinton could have given that would have changed his mind or anyone else’s?

I could have done a better job moderating. George Stephanopoulos and Charles Gibson, you should apologize to the public, then promise to never moderate another debate again.

And that’s all I’ve got to say about that.

SAB